Board of Trustees

The Citizens & Scholars Board of Trustees provides tremendous experience and counsel for the organization. It includes leaders from higher education, business, government, nonprofit, social entrepreneurship, public affairs, biotech, philanthropy, law, and finance.

The Board

Jane Phillips Donaldson, Chair
Co-Founder, Phillips Oppenheim

Jeffrey A. Goldstein, Vice-Chair
Senior Advisor, Canapi Ventures


Rhian Evans Allvin
President & CEO, Brynmor Holdings, LLC

Brooke B. Coburn

Co-Founder and Partner, Capitol Meridian Advisors; Senior Advisor, The Carlyle Group

Robert F. Johnston
Founder, Johnston Associates

John Katzman
Founder and Chairman, Noodle Education, Inc.

William W. Keating
Owner and CEO, Waste Acquisition Group

Holly Kuzmich
Managing Director, Draper Richards Kaplan Foundation

Glen Lewy
Senior Managing Director, Hudson Ventures

Lauren Maddox
Senior Policy Advisor, Holland & Knight LLP

Kent McGuire
Program Director of Education, The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation

Stefanie Sanford, Chair-Elect
Chief, Global Policy & External Relations, The College Board

David N. Shane
CEO (Retired), LDI Ltd., LLC

Kim Smith
Founder, Pahara Institute; Entrepreneur in Residence, Marshall Street Initiatives

Jay P. Urwitz
Senior Deputy General Counsel for Special Projects, State University of New York System

Rajiv Vinnakota, ex officio
President, Institute for Citizens & Scholars

Mark Walsh
Managing Partner, Ruxton Ventures, LLC

Previously Served

H. Kim Bottomly

Walter W. Buckley, Jr., Chair Emeritus

George Campbell, Jr.

Ramon C. Cortines

Donald L. Drakeman

Elizabeth A. Duffy

Carl Ferenbach

Juliet Goodfriend

Frederick L.A. Grauer, 1969 Woodrow Wilson Fellow, Chair Emeritus

Jennifer Gruenberg

J. Roderick Heller, III, 1959 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

N. Gerry House

Thomas C. Hudnut, Chair Emeritus

Erica Jong, 1963 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Martha J. Kanter

Senator Robert W. Kasten, Jr.

Shirley Strum Kenny, 1956 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Carl F. Kohrt

Jan Krukowski

Richard A. Levao

Francisco A. Lorenzo

Luther Tai

Nancy Weiss Malkiel, 1965 Woodrow Wilson Fellow, Chair Emerita

Anita Manwani

Karen E. Osborne

Ambassador Edward J. Perkins

Matthew Pittinsky

Deborah Quazzo

E. John Rice

Judith A. Rizzo

Sharon P. Robinson

Myron S. Scholes

John L.S. Simpkins

Louis A. Simpson, 1958 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Jeffrey L. Skelton

Catharine R. Stimpson, 1958 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Marvin J. Suomi

George A. Weiss

Paul J. Weissman

Stephen A. Weiswasser

John C. Wilcox, 1964 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Michael R. Winston, 1962 Woodrow Wilson Fellow

Jessie Woolley-Wilson

Support Our Work

Help us invest in the talent, ideas, and networks that will develop young people as effective, lifelong citizens.

Ways to Support

Meet The Team

The Citizens & Scholars team brings experiences ranging from the classroom to the quad and from Main Street to Wall Street across the public, private, and philanthropic sectors.

Meet The Team